Pantera’s Far Beyond Driven Hits 20

A special 2-disc 20th Anniversary edition of PANTERA’s legendary album, ‘Far Beyond Driven’ is set for release through Rhino on 24th March.  The twin pack includes a newly remastered version of the original release, plus the ground-breaking band’s live set from 1994’s Monsters of Rock show at Donington Park.  A digital format will also be available.


PANTERA reached a major milestone in 1994 when their seventh studio album, ‘Far Beyond Driven’, debuted at #1 on the Billboard Top 200, becoming the fastest-selling album of the group’s career and its second consecutive platinum release. Not only a commercial success, the album also earned fantastic reviews around the world for the beautiful brutality of its all-out sonic assault.

Following the breakthrough success of 1992’s now iconic ‘Vulgar Display of Power’ – which has since been certified double platinum in the US – singer Philip Anselmo, guitarist Dimebag Darrell, bassist Rex Brown and drummer Vinnie Paul returned in March ‘94 with its follow-up, ‘Far Beyond Driven’.  In the months after its #1 debut, the disc remained on the Billboard album rundown for seven more months and many still regard it as the heaviest album to ever top the chart.

Its 12 tracks represented a continuation of the band’s relentless, groove-heavy, musical onslaught with body-slamming tracks like first single, ‘I’m Broken’, as well as the mosh-pit classics ‘5 Minutes Alone’ and ‘Slaughtered.’  Another standout track was the group’s swirling acoustic cover of Black Sabbath’s ‘Planet Caravan,’ which then became a live favourite when Pantera hit the road to support the album later that year.

Fans already familiar with ‘Far Beyond Driven’ are also in for a treat with the second disc of the 20th Anniversary Edition package.  Dubbed ‘Far Beyond Bootleg – Live From Donington ’94’, the disc contains PANTERA’s full live 40 minute set from the legendary Monsters of Rock Festival (the current Download Festival’s predecessor) at Donington Park on June 4th, 1994.


Disc One – Original Album Remastered

1.      “Strength Beyond Strength”

2.      “Becoming”

3.      “5 Minutes Alone”

4.      “I’m Broken”

5.      “Good Friends And A Bottle Of Pills”

6.      “Hard Lines, Sunken Cheeks”

7.      “Slaughtered”

8.      “25 Years”

9.      “Shedding Skin”

10.   “Use My Third Arm”

11.   “Throes Of Rejection”

12.   “Planet Caravan”

Disc Two – Far Beyond Bootleg – Live From Donington ‘94

1.      “Use My Third Arm”

2.      “Walk”

3.      “Strength Beyond Strength”

4.      “Domination/Hollow”

5.      “Slaughtered”

6.      “Fucking Hostile”

7.      “This Love”

8.      “Mouth For War”

9.      “Cowboys From Hell”

Related posts:


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.