AELTER set release date for new PESANTA URFOLK album

Aelter IV Love Eternal

Today, Pesanta Urfolk announces April 20th as the release date for Aelter’s highly anticipated fourth album, Aelter IV: Love Eternal. One of several side-projects to emerge from the Wolvserpent camp, Aelter is a solo project of Blake Green. Known for a cinematically dreary dreamscape of doom-inspired darkness, over the course of three albums, Green has steadily evolved the Aelter aesthetic from minimal, wide-open expanses of sound – on 2009 debut Dusk Dawn and 2010’s Aelter II: Follow You Beloved (collected together by Crucial Blast in 2011) – to the strange ambient-influenced slowcore first suggested by 2011’s critically acclaimed Aelter III and now reaching its fullest fruition on Aelter IV. With bewitching ease, Aelter IV has fully embraced a shadow-cast landscape of gothic Western folk music and hypnotic darkwave pop – but “gothic” in the literary sense, and “pop” stripped of any chart aspirations. It’s a sublime and slowly unfolding experience, moving further away from fuzzed-out guitars and into the melancholic melodies of songwriter noir. References to be made number later Swans, Red House Painters, Lycia, Crime and the City Solution, and Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds’ more reined-in work, but Green’s acute attention to texture and tension place this current incarnation of Aelter into a league of its own. By the album’s cathartic end, Aelter IV: Love Eternal emerges as a hauntingly atmospheric and crushing piece of dark romantic Americana. Tracklisting is as follows:

Tracklisting for Aelter’s Aelter IV: Love Eternal
1. Intro
2. Death Eternal
3. Love Eternal
4. Life Eternal
5. Hope Eternal


Related posts:


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.