Whitesnake Unleash ‘Soldier Of Fortune’ Video

Whitesnake 2014

Whitesnake 2014

Photo by C Ash Newell

If you’ve read our glowing review then you’ll know how highly we rate ‘The Purple Album’, David Coverdale’s heartfelt tribute to the amazing Deep Purple. A thrilling take on some of the Purple highlights from David’s tumultuous years with the band, ‘the purple album’ treats the original material with great respect and yet places the immutable Whitesnake spin on it. If you have yet to order the album then you should check out the following video for “Soldier of Fortune” – a song taken from their forthcoming album and see what all the fuss is about.

The new Snake album is released by Frontiers Music SRL on Monday May 18th.

The band will be out on tour with none other than Def Leppard (a dream line up!) later in the year.

Def Ws Final Admat

Official album press release:

Rock icons Whitesnake are set to return with their 12th studio album this spring. The Purple Album will be released in Europe on May 15th, the UK on May 18th and in North America on May 19th via Frontiers Music SRL. The Purple Album is a re-imagination of classic songs from David Coverdale’s time as the lead singer for Deep Purple’s Mark 3 and Mark 4 studio albums.


The album is currently available for pre-order in various configurations on Amazon – Standard Edition, Deluxe Edition featuring 2 bonus tracks, 4 music videos and a behind the scenes featurette on the recording of the album, and in a double LP vinyl format. Plans are also underway for a special limited box set edition with memorabilia and merchandise. All details will be announced soon.


“It’s a tribute. A homage. It’s a huge thank you from me to Deep Purple for the opportunity I was given over 40 years ago,” says Coverdale. “As I said to Ritchie, you guys set me on an incredible journey that continues today and I couldn’t have asked for better teachers. The university of Deep Purple is an extraordinary, amazing school to learn from. We can’t wait to play these songs in concert.”


From the opening notes of the classic track “Burn,” to album closer “Stormbringer,” Whitesnake are back and better than ever. Songs like “Lady Double Dealer,” “Soldier of Fortune” and “Sail Away” are given a new energy in the very capable hands of the current Whitesnake line-up featuring David Coverdale on vocals, Reb Beach and Joel Hoekstra on guitars, Michael Devin on bass and Tommy Aldridge on drums.


A video for the first single “Stormbringer” can be seen here.


The Purple Album – Track Listing:


  • Burn
  • You Fool No One (interpolating Itchy Fingers)
  • Love Child
  • Sail Away
  • The Gypsy
  • Lady Double Dealer
  • Mistreated
  • Holy Man
  • Might Just Take Your Life
  • You Keep On Moving
  • Soldier Of Fortune
  • Lay Down Stay Down
  • Stormbringer


Deluxe Edition Bonus Tracks:


  • Lady Luck
  • Comin’ Home


DVD Content:


Lady Double Dealer – Music Video

Sail Away – Mix Music Video

Stormbringer – Music Video

Soldier Of Fortune – Music Video

Purple Album Behind The Scenes

Purple Album EPK

Related posts:


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.